DIORSKIN NUDE AIR LUMINIZER // REVIEW

 

Hello my little green apple skittles,

I hope you are all doing well!

Today i’m back at it with the product reviews! We’re talking about the ridiculously priced expensive Dior Nude Air Luminizer Powder. Let’s get into it.


PRODUCT & CLAIMS

IMG_0907

The Diorskin Nude Air Luminizer Powder is described as a “light and airy highlighting powder that reveals glowing skin “. It was first launched as a limited release last spring, but has been brought back as a permanent addition to the Diorskin line. The shade selection has also expanded to 4, whereas there was originally just 1-2 shades.The claims of the product are :

  • virtually imperceptible texture, light on the skin
  • universal shade (001) is suitable for all skin tones
  • highly concentrated formula
  • creates a radiantly luminous complexion

The retail price of this highlighter is 56 USD for 6g of product . You can find this product at the following retailers:

Sephora

Selfridges

Macy’s

Dillard’s

Neiman Marcus

Saks Fifth Avenue

Nordstrom

Lord & Taylor

PACKAGING & SHADES

 

IMG_0862

The highlighter comes in a big blue box which is typical for Dior makeup items. Inside the box, you get the compact itself, a kabuki brush and a velvet pouch for the compact. Realistically, you will lose this velvet pouch very quickly and will never actually use it. But hey, if it helps you justify the price, go for it! The brush is embossed with the CD logo at the bottom. It is not the softest brush, nor is it ideal for applying highlighter, but again it is thrown in to help you justify the price (which it fails to do). The compact itself is beautiful, it is silver with an embossed design on the front and a magnetic closure. The powder inside is also gorgeous, with embossed writing spelling out ‘Nude Air’. The shade name is written on a sticker at the back of the product.

IMG_0909

 

IMG_0912

In terms of shades, as mentioned above the product comes in four shades; Nude Glow, Pink Glow,Golden Glow and Bronze Glow. The first shade, Nude Glow, is meant to be a universal shade that works for most skin tones. The three other shades are more complimentary to specific skin tones (ex: pink glow for very fair skin, bronzed glow for very deep skin). I got the shade Nude Glow for two reasons; 1) it was the only shade available at all the Sephoras in my area, 2) I wanted to see just how ‘universal’ the shade is.

Untitled.png

When swatched on the hand, Nude Glow does not seem extremely impressive in terms of shade. I would describe it as a champagne tone. However, what is impressive is how fine the shimmer particles are, you can barely see them. For someone that doesn’t like extreme glitter/shimmer highlighters, this was promising. Products with very fine shimmer tend to melt into the skin and provide more of a glow than a blinding  highlight.

IMG_0914

Beyond that, this product blended into my hand very easily with just my finger, and was seamless-like a glow should be.

PERFORMANCE

In terms of application on the face, I did struggle to pick up this product with a brush. I am not sure if it has to do with the embossed design or what, but I felt as though I had to wiggle my brush in the pan quite a bit to pick up any product. This means that the beautiful design on the highlighter started to fade slightly from only a few uses, as you can see below. This was a bit of a disappointment, especially for the price. I shouldn’t have to dig into a product with my brush before I get any pigment.

IMG_0911

Upon application to the face, the glow the product gave was  subtle unless you really layered it up or packed a lot on your brush. This can be a positive or negative depending on how pigmented you like your highlighters. For me, I did expect a bit more from this highlighter especially given the price. I’d rather have a product be more pigmented than have very subtle pigment unless you layer it. When a product is more pigmented, you can add more or less depending on the brush you use, etc. However, once I applied a few layers, it was very beautiful on the face and blended in seamlessly. In terms of applying the product with the brush provided, I really did not like it . I think because the product is marketed more as a ‘luminizer powder’ , perhaps the brand expects people to apply it all over the face to provide a subtle glow-similar to the Hourglass Ambient Lighting Palette. However, In my experience, this just looked strange as it was too sheer to provide a noticeable glow-so instead you just had very tiny shimmers all over, but no overall glow (if that makes sense) .

IMG_0906

In terms of the color, the shade was not ashy or strange on my skin tone, regardless of how many layers were applied. I think this shade would work for most skin tones, from very pale to deep .I think it may start to look a tad ashy for very deep ebony skin tones, but could still work with a light hand. You can see how the product applied in the video below. As you can see, at the end of the application my highlighter was very glowy yet intense at the same time. More of a glow highlight than a metallic one, which I prefer. This product is very beautiful, but I don’t think it’s something you should run out and buy.

OVERALL 

This is a nice product , ask for it for your birthday -but you’ll survive if you don’t have it. I am sure there are similar products at the drugstore, or even high end highlighters with better payoff.

I give this an 8/10

Let me know if you’ve tried this or what you want to see reviewed next!

 

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Tigritsa says:

    Lovely review! I love how informative it is with all the details!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Thank you so much!

      Like

  2. RachelW says:

    Great review! Such a gorgeous product 😀 xx

    Like

  3. This is such a pretty colour!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Thank you gorgeous ! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

