L’Oréal 6-in-1 Cleansing Balm // FIRST IMPRESSION

Hello my little Hi-Chews,

Today I’m giving you my first thoughts on the L’Oréal Evercreme 6-in-1 cleansing balm.

PRODUCT AND PACKAGING

The L’Oréal EverCreme 6-in-1 cleansing balm is a cleansing conditioner . There are variations of this product available depending on your hair needs (colored/normal/dry/etc.) I have the one for dry hair. The product is described as a “low lather, no-stripping, no-build-up system with nourishing botanicals that cleanses, conditions, treats damaged hair, de-tangles, softens and adds shine” . The product retails for 9.99 USD- 11.99 USD depending on where you buy it. If you live in the Middle East, you can find this at specialty supermarkets (Ex: Tamimi, Danube, Waitrose,etc).

image.jpg

The six functions of the product are

  • Cleanse
  • Condition
  • Treat
  • Detangle
  • Soften
  • Shine

The balm is also sulfate, dye, and silicone free; which is meant to be good for your hair. The bottle is 500ml which is a fair bit of product, and it comes with a pump for ease of dispense. I will say the amount of product dispensed per pump is very minimal. On the back of the bottle they recommend using 6-8 pumps per use to get your hair fully saturated-I had to use at least double that amount for my hair (my hair is to my mid back). This is a downside because it’s a lot of product to go through for one use. Usually with my shampoos and conditioners I go through 2 dime size amount of products per use. This product does not lather at all, so it’s kind of hard to distribute it evenly through your hair.

IMG_0789

TEXTURE AND PERFORMANCE

The texture of this balm is like a conditioner exactly; very silky and slippery, milky in color. I applied this to my wet hair and immediately noticed the lack of lather which I mentioned earlier. I have never used a sulfate-free ‘shampoo’ before, so I wasn’t used to this no-lather situation; felt like it wasn’t cleaning my hair. However, several pumps later and after washing my hair with the product and rinsing it out,, I  was surprised when my scalp and roots especially felt SQUEAKY CLEAN…but super soft at the same time?? it was quite bazaar. It felt like I had almost like a film of slippery conditioner on each strand of hair but not on my scalp or roots, and this was after I had rinsed out my hair MULTIPLE times to make sure I didn’t have any product in my hair that was giving me this slippery feeling. The balm rinses out super easily. The product has a very subtle, fancy scent-clean and hair salon like, you guys know what I mean.

 

IMG_0792.JPG

I do feel like the claims of it removing build up are very true. After washing my hair, it was very easy to comb through and appeared very shiny. However, as my hair dried, the ends became extremely dry and brittle-like they needed a heavy duty conditioner! Now usually, I use a heavy conditioner or mask after I shampoo my hair to make sure it is well hydrated because my hair gets extremely dry because 1) the water here is very harsh 2) the weather is VERY dry. When I use a heavy conditioner, my hair is never as brittle as it was with the cleansing balm . I should emphasize here that the rest of my hair dried fine- manageable and shiny. The issue was in the mid lengths-ends of my hair. I think if I use this product again, I will still have to go in with a heavy conditioner to avoid this situation. That kind of defeats the purpose of the product since it’s supposed to be everything in one, but since I like how clean my hair feels and how shiny it looked, so I’d use it again.

OVERALL VERDICT

IMG_0788

I think this product is best suited for someone who has normal-dry-moderately dry hair, if you have extremely dry hair I don’t think you can get away with not using a conditioner. I like this so far, but I’ll have to use it again to get a more accurate idea of how I really feel about it and how I can make it work for me.

Rating: 7.5/10

Have you tried this product?

Tuti xx

One Comment Add yours

  1. Oooh interesting! Sadly my locks are super thirsty haha I don’t know if this would work for me:(

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

