REVIEW : TOO FACED BORN THIS WAY CONCEALER

Hello my mini muffins,

First off some announcements!

  • Thank you SO much for the love on my previous post, you have no idea how much it means to me. You are all ICONIC!
  • Please comment below on what items you want me to review next. If I can get it, i’ll review it!

Now onto  the good stuff.

Today we’re talking concealer- which some of you may know is my secret addiction (only half joking). I’m sharing with you my thoughts on the Too Faced Born This Way Naturally Radiant Concealer! I recently ran out of my bae (Nars Creamy Radiant Concealer) and wanted to try something new. Since this concealer has the word radiant in the title, it landed in my Sephora basket without hesitation.

PRODUCT & CLAIMS

IMG_0592

The concealer is described as an oil-free concealer that diminishes the look of imperfections, while leaving a natural looking radiance to the skin.  The claims of the product are :

  • Banishes the appearance of dark circles
  • Blurs the look of fine lines and wrinkles
  • Infused with skin care benefits ( coconut water , hyaluronic acid & alpine rose) to ; replenish moisture levels in the skin, boost radiance and give a youthful appearance to the skin
  • Comfortable on the skin and creamy in texture

The concealer retails for 28 USD and is sold online on Sephora , Ulta, Too Faced.com, and other major beauty retailers.

The texture of this product is very thin and liquidy, the only reason you can feel it on your skin is because of the cooling effect it has. It also has a coconutty scent that dissipates once the product is blended in.

PACKAGING & SHADES

In terms of packaging, it comes in a standard tube with a doe foot applicator. The little details such as the gold writing and gold metal embossed ring around the top of the tube are nice touched and make it feel more expensive than it is. The drawback I found with this packaging is that the ‘stopper’ of the concealer is quite wide– this is good because you get a good amount of product, but bad because it leaves the top of the product (which is black)  very messy. The doe foot applicator is soft and  cushion-y on the skin.

IMG_0597

The concealer comes in 10 shades , ranging from light to dark. Ten shades is okay but it’s not great. It does not cater for people that are very light or very dark in complexion. In terms of undertones, from swatching in the store, most of the shades have a peachy/slightly neutral sort of undertone. This undertone is usually great at cancelling out blue/purple tones in the skin usually seen under the eyes. Even the ‘golden’ based shades are not as yellow as some of the other brands. Nars for instance has very yellow based concealers/foundations that I personally enjoy because of my undertone and preferences.

too faced

 

The shade I selected was “Deep Tan” which is described as tan with golden undertones. The shade before this was MUCH lighter and the shade after it was too dark. This was a bit strange and unhelpful to me as I would have liked at least two similar shades in my complexion range to select from- I feel like there was too much disparity between the shades which meant not enough choice.

IMG_0596Since this shade was the only color that was close my skin tone, I went with it. The undertones of this shade is what I would describe as warm/neutral. I also find it unacceptable that my shade is the third darkest shade. The darkest shade would equate to an NW50 (in MAC); there are plenty of people darker than that. Same goes with the “lightest” shade. Shade selection needs some work Too Faced!

IMG_0598

PERFORMANCE

Upon application, this product applies like a dream; very smooth and liquidy (but not too runny) and has medium/buildable coverage. The finish of the concealer is VERY dewy , something comparable to MAC Face & Body foundation rather than the NARS Creamy Radiant. The plus side of that is that it makes your skin look like a mannequin– smooth and plastic-like haha. Which of course could be something you don’t really want, depending on your preferences. I will say that you really have to add a LOT of layers for it to look cakey. Which is a major plus for me, it looks very natural even if you build it up. It did not cling to any dry patches or texture on my skin, and felt very hydrating. I blended it out with my Beauty Blender, as I always do, and it worked perfectly. I was also pleasantly surprised that it did in fact blur my smile lines a bit! Which is something I did not expect to happen, but that’s always a plus in my book! Also, it covered my under-eye circles quite well, for having no corrector on underneath. I think this product hit all of the claims it made, including making your skin look young and fresh because of the hyaluronic acid and the dewiness of the product.

If you’d like to see the concealer in action, I used it in this video:

The downside to this concealer is that you HAVE TO set it. It will crease under your eyes immediately if not set. Also, I didn’t find this concealer as brightening as I would like. Another drawback is that it is not the most longwearing concealer, I got about 5 hours wear time (but I also wasn’t outside sweating/in humidity/etc), so keep that in mind-wouldn’t recommend this as your main concealer if you’re going to be out in the heat all day.I’m not sure if I would recommend this if you have very oily skin as the staying power is not great.

OVERALL

I really like this concealer! It gives a lovely overall look to the skin and covers what you need it to cover without looking heavy or cakey. The brand could work on the staying power and packaging/shades a bit.

Overall rating : 8.5/10

Have you tried this ?

Tuti xx

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Love makeup/cosmetic reviews from women of color, so much easier to trust. Great post, followed 🙂

    Check out my blog sometime? Like and comment if you vibe with something 💕 https://noirerewritten.com/freebies/

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Glad you enjoyed! x

      Like

  2. mariiacano says:

    I’ve read a lot of reviews on the foundation but not on the concealer! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Maria Cano | Instagram | Bloglovin’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Thanks for reading! 🤗

      Like

  3. itiswhatit says:

    Have you tried the foundation too? I really wanna try these but unsure on colours im quite yellow toned. I’ve seen a few vlogs looks like it could be good! Great blog 💕xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      No, they never stock the dark shades where I live so haven’t been able to try it 😦 I’ll keep looking though! Thank you!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. hollife says:

    That’s such a crap colour range, especially from a high end brand!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Right? It needs help!

      Like

Leave a Reply

