THE TRUTH ABOUT SOCIAL MEDIA

Hello my chocolate covered raisins,

Long time no chat. Life has been busy,and I have been uninspired.

Today I want to talk about something I feel like no one really talks about which is the truth about social media, guess what- IT’S FAKE!

I am sure I’m not the only one guilty of self-comparison when going on Instagram for instance. Looking at beautiful pictures of people or things and thinking wow I wish I had that, I wish I looked like that, etc. We all do this to some extent. Even the most confident, self-assured individuals can be sucked into the world of social media and self-comparison. Now don’t get me wrong,  self-comparison can be healthy from time to time and can motivate you to improve aspects of your life, in REAL life. However when you continuously do it through social media, it can be toxic.

For me, it’s important to always remember that social media is a cultivated collection of images that represent the best of times for that individual. You may not know this, but people literally pick, choose and stage photos that portray a certain image or story. Nothing is by ‘accident’. No one accidentally found some amazing lighting in a cute little street and just so happened to be wearing a killer outfit and have great makeup- they planned it, to the T.   Moreover, the vast majority of pictures (including people’s appearance) are edited and photo-shopped to look a certain way. No one’s highlight is really that smooth. No one’s life is really all  PR trips and happiness. No one has perfect skin or a ‘perfect’ body. You’d be surprised at the sheer amount of pictures you think are real that are actually heavily re-touched to look that way. Everyone uses filters. Everyone alters lighting. It’s just the way it is.

I say all this to implore you to take what you see on social media with a grain of salt. I know how easy it is to see other people’s lives/bodies/relationships and think yours is shit and get really down about it. But at the end of the day, the best thing for you in your life will be totally different than someone else’s best. Everyone online is trying to create a brand and image for themselves, which for some could be the complete opposite of their actual life. Just keep that in mind.

Are you guilty of self-comparison on social media?

Tuti xx

4 Comments Add yours

  1. itiswhatit says:

    Love this post I always cared about what I looked like or what people thought and that all these girls were so much prettier and that will never be me! But I now I just think you have to embrace who you are cause there is only one you! 💋 xx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Exactly! Glad you got the message. And you’re GORGEOUS doll! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. So true dear ❤ ❤ ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

