REVIEW: PTR CAMU CAMU MASK

Hello my coffee bon bons,

Today I want to share with you my thoughts on the Peter Thomas Roth Camu Camu Sleep Mask*! As always, all opinions are my own and I bought this with my own $.

CLAIMS AND PRICE

untitled2

This mask is a sleeping mask meant to penetrate the skin while you sleep for maximum benefits. The major selling point of this mask to me was the vitamin C in the Camu Camu being 30 times more than the vitamin C in an orange. Vitamin C is used in skincare to help lighten discoloration and hyper-pigmentation on the skin. Also, the packaging of the mask seemed unique to me; the product is contained in a vacuum chamber, you press down on the pump on the top to release the product-this keeps the ingredients fresh.

img_0493

On the PTR website, the claims are as follows:

  • Brightens/smoothes/firms skin
  • Soothe skin ,nourish & moisturize
  • Enhance appearance of uneven skin tone

The mask retails for 62.oo USD and can be purchased from Sephora* , Ulta* or the brand’s website.

PERFORMANCE 

So far, I have had this mask a little over a month and have  used it about 5 times in order to give it a fair review. Initially I used this mask for about 15 mins (which you can do if you don’t want to sleep in it) and removed the excess. Immediately after my skin felt smooth and soft, but I saw no difference in the brightness of my skin or my skin tone. I thought this might be something that takes time, so the next time I used it as a sleep mask.I have to say, it really isn’t the most comfortable thing to have on your face while you sleep. The texture of the mask stays sticky for a looooong time, almost the whole night, this means it gets on everything unless you sleep head up. I found that inconvenient. In the morning, I did find that my skin was plump and smooth, but again not bright. This was a major let down because I got this mask specifically for the brightening claims; I already have a moisturizing face mask. Also, use this mask sparingly because it is thick and has a tendency to break you out if you use too much.

Everytime I used it I would get the same results (moisturized + smooth skin without brightening). My skin texture also did not improve /change when I wasn’t using it-which leads me to believe the effects of this mask are only temporary and when you use it. For the price point I am disappointed, I expected more from this product because I have loved other items from this brand before. I don’t feel it stood by it’s claims and major selling point which was the vitamin C and brightening elements .

Overall rating : 5/10

If you’ve tried this, let me know your thoughts in the comments!

(Disclaimer: Links with an ‘*’ are affiliate)

Tuti xx

3 Comments Add yours

  1. I love it, but you do have to keep using it to maintain the amazing skin!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

