FIRST LOOK: MUFE STAR LIT POWDERS

Hello my chocolate caramels,

Today I want to share with you my thoughts on the new Make Up For Ever Starlit Powders! As always, all opinions are 100% my own, and I bought these with my own money. Let’s crack on!

PRODUCT & PRICE

img_0474

The Star Lit Powders are described as ultra-fine shimmering powders that can be used anywhere on the face- lips, eyes, cheeks. The formula features “Pure Mother Of Pearl” that is said to intensify how the product catches the light.

Make Up For Ever makes the following claims about the product:

  • Ultra-radiant and ultra-fine 
  • Can be applied wet or dry
  • Catches the light like no other

Each powder retails for $21 shades (for 1.2 grams) and can be purchased from Sephora or the Make Up For Ever site.

PACKAGING & SHADES

img_0486

The packaging of the powders is an acrylic case with an opening at the top. My gripe with this is that it’s extremely messy and because there’s no sifter/seal- you waste a lot of product. It’s quite fidley to work with as the powder can get everywhere and gets all over your hands. I expected better packaging, especially because it’s a lot of money to pay per powder.

untitled

There are 8 shades available for purchase, all have shimmer in them. Most of the shades are light in tone , ranging from ivory/champagne to rose gold/copper. The remaining 3 shades are cool toned, bold colors-blue, grey, black bases. Some of the shades feature a duo-chrome effect, which is very cool and makes the shades more interesting.

img_0491
L to R: Golden Pink, Ivory
I chose shades 13-Ivory and 15-Golden Pink – purely because I thought I’d get more use out of them as highlighters as well as eyeshadows. I wanted to get the copper shade, but I have a billion copper shades in my collection already so I gave that a miss. The shade ivory is a champagne shade that is more warm than the usual ‘ivory’ I see in stores, which is why I went for it. The golden pink shade is something I would describe as a rose gold, really pretty.

img_0489-1
L to R: Ivory, Golden Pink

PERFORMANCE

The texture of these powders is in fact extremely fine and lightweight. The pros to this is that you can layer really nicely and blend out easily. The major con is that the powder is too fine to be used alone- you need to use a sticky base underneath for the powder to stick to, and need to use patting motions to apply it, before you blend. When used alone for highlighters I found that it goes everywhere if I don’t use a cream highlighter base underneath. Not to mention, you need to use a brush with these powders. I tried to pick up the product with my fingertips, but found that it didn’t transfer to my eye because the powder is extremely fine and sticks to your fingertip instead.

You can see a look I created with the powders here or on my instagram:

Also it should be noted that these powders are very shimmery- yes it’s fine shimmer, but still extremely shimmery. If you’re not into shimmer, you may not like these on the face. I’m still deciding if I like them for highlighter on the face- they look incredible from far away and are amazing in photos, but look quite intense and shimmery in person even with a base.

I use one of the shades in this video with Mac fix +. I think I like it! 

OVERALL RATING 

I think these powders are good, but not anything especially amazing. Get them if you want to try some of the more unique colors, but don’t run out to buy them. They do look pretty on the eyes, but again nothing I can’t get with other products. I will say that using them wet on the eyes is really lovely!

Overall: 7.5/10

What would you like to see reviewed next?

Tuti xx

6 Comments Add yours

  1. ameliason says:

    The gold is absolutely beautiful! Can you do a post on lip care/best lipsticks or lip gloss?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Thank you! Sure i’ll put it on the list! x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. MomoxMonroe says:

    I bet they would look great as a highlighter. ♥

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Omg that gold!!! So pretty girl!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. The gold is a very pretty shade ✨

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

