REVIEW AND COMPARISON: BARE MINERALS VS. SMASHBOX

Hello my toffee bites,

Today I’m bringing you a makeup review (finally!). I decided to test out and compare two face products with similar claims & formulas; both are marketed as light-weight, skin perfecting, natural looking base products. 

Here’s the low-down –>

CLAIMS & PRICE:

The BareSkin Pure Brightening Serum Foundation SPF 20 is described as a

Clinically proven tone-correcting mineral foundation and brightening serum in one. Created with exceptional purity in mind, this ultra-thin, skin-perfecting fluid provides seamless adjustable coverage, a natural finish and the look and feel of beautiful skin while delivering a noticeably brighter, more youthful appearance. Made with the bare minimum ingredients and formulated without oil, silicone, parabens or fragrance. It’s like nothing you’ve ever felt before”  . It retails for 29.50 USD and is available for purchase at Sephora, Ulta and the BareMinerals site.

It claims to be:

  • suitable for all skin types
  • oil-free
  • has a natural finish  with brighter appearance
  • seamlessly adjustable coverage

The Smashbox Camera Ready BB Water SPF30  is described as :

“To keep things looking natural (even with SPF 30) under our L.A. photo studio lights, we created our most lightweight, dewy BB yet—a water-like hydrating formula with all the complexion perfecting benefits of our cream in each drop.”

The Smashbox Camera Ready BB Water SPF30 claims it:

 

  • Primes. Perfects. Hydrates. Protects with SPF 30
  • Demi-matte, never flat finish with buildable coverage
  • Photoset Polymers create all-day wear
  • Oil- and alcohol-free; perfect for all skin types

This retails for 42.00 USD and is available to purchase at Sephora , Ulta and the Smashbox site.

 

PACKAGING:

img_0308

The Smashbox BB water comes in a glass bottle, and features a pipette type dropper. The glass is typical of Smashbox foundations, but makes the product difficult to travel with. Moreover, the glass shatters very easily as it is thin, unlike say a NARS foundation glass bottle that is usually a bit thicker. I know this because I’ve known several people whose Smashbox foundation shattered from hitting the floor one time. I’ve dropped my NARS before with no issues. The dropper is kind of a hit and miss for me, as I feel you need more product than one drop provides so you end up having to use more drops regardless. Also, it is very messy because the entire pipette is saturated in foundation. Beyond that, it isn’t very hygienic overall as the container of foundation gets exposed to air constantly; but I can look past that for a good product.

img_0417

The BareMinerals foundation is a fully closed plastic bottle, with a small dropper at the top. The benefit of this design is that you can dispense the exact amount of product you want, since you can manipulate the bottle to dispense more at any given time. The issue I have with this packaging is that the dropper leaks and gets extremely messy. Regardless of how many times I clean the dropper and store the foundation correctly, I always find that the cap is full of foundation. This is not only unhygienic, but it wastes a ton of product. A cute perk of this foundation’s packaging is that the shade color is the color of the bottle- not 100% accurate to the color of the product itself, but still fairly close.

If I were to choose between the two, I would probably go with the BareMinerals packaging because It was less messy that the Smashbox, and I won’t have to worry about the product smashing. However, the most ideal packaging would be a pump top and an acrylic bottle , in my opinion.

SHADES:

 

img_0432
(L to R): Smashbox BB Water shade “Medium Dark”, BareMinerals BareSkin foundation shade “Bare Honey 15”

The Smashbox BB Water comes in 8 shades according to the Smashbox website. Personally, I think 8 shades is a limited number of shades (but I’ll spare you the shade range rant this time). In terms of the shades themselves, there seems to be 4 shades in the light category, two in the medium category, and 2 in the dark category. So really, not much to choose from. I went for the Medium/Dark shade as the next shade up, “Dark”, was too dark for my complexion. The Medium/Dark shade has a neutral undertone-which is something I have noticed across most (if not all)  of their shades. Also, the website swatches are not very accurate I suggest you swatch in store.

smashbox

The BareMinerals foundation comes in 20 shades according to their website.

bare-minerals

As far as I can tell, this is the shade breakdown: 5 shades in the Light category, 5 shades in the Medium category, 5 shades in the Medium/ Dark category (which they call “Tan”…lol) and 5 shades in the Dark category. What I will say is that they have kept the shade distribution fair between all categories. They also have a mix of undertones(cool/warm/neutral) available for most Light and Medium shades . In the Medium/Dark and Dark category, the shades have either a warm or neutral undertone. I got the shade “Bare Honey 15”, which to me, is quite orange in undertone. However, the shade “Bare Caramel 14” was too light for me. So the shades could use some tweaking, but at least there is a larger selection per category.

 

img_0371
(L to R): Smashbox BB water shade “Medium/Dark” , BareMinerals Bareskin Foundation shade “Bare Honey 15”
COVERAGE / BLENDABILITY/ LONGEVITY:

I tested out both products on the same area of my face. I used a BeautyBlender to apply both products. Although this is not ideal as a sponge sucks up most of the product, the products did not apply well at all with a stippling brush or buffing brush; so I decided on a BeautyBlender since it works with all other foundations I have and is my favorite way to apply foundation in general. I did not use primer with either product because I never use a primer for my foundation regularly. My skin type can be considered dry/combination. I get a tad oily around my nose throughout the day, but that’s all.

**Since I don’t have professional lighting and it has been very gloomy, the pictures may all have different light. Please forgive that-I tried my best!**

 

img_0418
No product on my face. As you can see I have some discoloration issues and hyperpigmentation spots.

 

 

img_0421
Smashbox BB water- 2 drops with pipette. Shade seems a bit ashy, product does not stretch far. Minimal coverage.

 

img_0422
Smashbox BB water- 3 more drops. Very buildable coverage, product meshes into skin. Gives a dewy finish and does not feel like anything on the skin. Does not emphasize fine lines around the mouth or the crease of the nose.

I really enjoyed how the Smashbox BB water looked once it was built up. You do have to use quite a bit of product to get any decent coverage- but I suppose that is a given since it has the words “BB water” in its name, rather than foundation. If you have clear skin already, I think this would be a great option for you if you want very light coverage. It was extremely lightweight on the skin, I forgot I was even wearing it. In terms of lasting power, I lasted around 7 hours before it started to break down slightly around my nose. Otherwise, it was great and looked the same throughout the day.

 

img_0424
BareMinerals foundation- 1 pump. Stretches very far, but does not blend well as all. The product refused to sink into skin and sat on top instead.

 

img_0425
BareMinerals foundation-2 drops total. Coverage increased slightly but application was very difficult. Looked very blotchy and unblended around mouth and jawline as it did not sink into skin at all. Felt greasy to the touch and transferred onto finger (even with powder+ setting spray). Shade seems okay, finish is greasy and matte at the same time, something I can only describe as a liquid powder. It clung to all dry patches and emphasized all imperfections.

 

img_0430
BareMinerals-30 mins after applying. Has sunk into smile lines , emphasized texture and clung to skin.
I really didn’t get on well with the BareSkin foundation at all. It seemed to get progressively worse with time and was impossible to blend because it would NOT SINK INTO THE SKIN! This meant it kept moving around and looked extremely blotchy and uneven. It lasted barely  3 hours before it literally started to disintegrate and smear completely off my face. Very confused about this product- I just don’t get why it doesn’t sink into the skin. I wasn’t happy with this product at all.

 

OVERALL RATING:

If I had to decide between the two, I would much rather use the Smashbox BB water than the BareSkin foundation. Although I needed to use more of the Smashbox to get the same level of coverage, I found the bendability, longevity, feel and appearance of the product to be far better than that of the BareMinerals.

I was sadly very disappointed with the BareSkin foundation as I had high hopes it would do well. I did not find any of the claims of the BareSkin foundation to be true; it did not have seamless coverage, it was not brightening and did not have a natural finish. It also did not feel like a serum-so I am very confused. In terms of flashback from SPF, I experienced a slight flashback with both the Smashbox and the BareMinerals. Which is strange for the BB water since it has the words “Camera Ready” in the name of the product.

Smashbox: 8.5/10

BareMinerals: 3/10

I hope you enjoyed this review. Let me know your thoughts in the comments below!

Tuti xx

9 Comments Add yours

  1. myBFF says:

    wow! That’s some serious roadtestin 🙂 I like the side by sides using measured amounts of foundation, so clinical and it really demonstrates what level of coverage is needed and what it does. Swatches were a bit full on though. I’ve found that swatching for shades requires proper application because that’s how it’s going to look applied. Anyway, love how in depth you went! We need more n this stuffs, lookin good should be a science!

    Like

  2. Hi Girl !
    Great post!💯
    Love It! ThnQ for Sharing!♡
    Hugz & Kisses, Miss B.💋

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Thank you gorgeous!

      Like

  3. nayardt says:

    Really informative post!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Thanks for the feedback-hope it was helpful! 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  4. dippedh says:

    I’ve always wondered about the comparison! I’ve heard such good and bad about both!
    https://dippedhoney.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 2 people

    1. tutistales says:

      Hope you found this helpful!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

