FALL LIPS

Hello my buttered crumpets,

Today I want to talk about dark lips for fall! This is usually the time of year where people switch out their lipsticks bright pinks and shimmery glosses, for matte formulas  and deep maroons. Something about the cold weather makes you want to wear darker things (including makeup) to match the gloomy weather- at least for me that runs true haha.

img_0233

The two lipsticks i’ve pulled out for this season are both very affordable-Rimmel Kate Moss Lasting Finish Lipstick (30), and Colorpop Matte Lippiestick ( Ellarie). The lip liner I use with both is the Bourjous Contour Edition (12-Chocolate Chip).

img_0237
L to R: Rimmel lipstick, Colorpop lipstick, Bourjous liner

The Rimmel lipstick has a creamy texture that glides on the lips very easily. I would describe the color as a deep berry, with pinky undertones (more pink than purple berry). The lasting power on this lipstick is alright, but it is not transfer resistant and you would need to reapply if you eat something greasy/etc. I think this shade would be complimentary on many skintones.

img_0234

*excuse my sloppy application I was in a hurry*

IMG_0239.JPG

The Colorpop lippiestick definitely has more of a stiff texture, since it is a matte. That also means it is more long lasting, and less moisturizing. I am generally not too keen on matte lipsticks because I hate having dry lips, I usually apply lip balm beforehand just to give me some extra moisture. The shade in this lipstick is more of a brick red- a deep red with brown undertones.

img_0236

img_0240

As for the lip liner, It really isn’t my favorite, it’s just the only one I have that has a deep brown color. My favorite drugstore lip liners are from Barry M, I have two of their shades and I’m almost at the end of my pencils-need to re-buy!

What are your favorite lipsticks for A/W?

Tuti xx

 

Leave a Reply

