Real Talk: Body Image

Hello my lemon cakes,

Today I want to have a conversation with you about body image. I know this can be considered somewhat of a “taboo” topic to talk about nowadays, but I think it is important to have an open dialogue about it.

This topic is near and dear to my heart because for as long as I can remember I have struggled with body image issues and lacking self-esteem because of my low body image. The funny thing is, before people started bringing up my body/comparing me to others/etc when I was young, I had literally never thought about it. I would be lying if I said that I wish my first ever thoughts about how I view my body weren’t more positive; because those negative experiences/thoughts/ideas about my body image, that were instilled in me by those closest to me when I was 10 years , are something that I still struggle with a decade later.

Of course as I’ve gotten older I’ve realized that my self-worth is not determined by my weight or figure. I’ve also made it a point to work on myself internally to make sure I am comfortable in myself, so that I do not get as affected by my weight gain/loss/whatever as I once used to. Most importantly though, I have taught myself to understand that the negativity that all the people growing up released on to me, was only a reflection of what they were dealing with; it had little to do with me, and this has proven itself to be true. However, like many others, I am still a work in progress. I still have days where those thoughts I had when I was a kid still creep in, where I feel like I should look a certain way; but now I know how to deal with those thoughts in a positive way. Something that has helped me along the way is reading and watching inspiring influencers that talk about their own struggles with this.

A book that I have found useful is The Body Book by Cameron Diaz. I wasn’t expecting much when I got this book, however over time I find myself going back to it when I need a ‘pep talk’ as such. The book essentially cover the relationship between your mind, body and food and how to tackle it and make it a positive one. It encourages a change in mindset, for those who need it, from hating your body and enforcing strict discipline upon it, to listening to your needs and working with them to get to a happy place. If you are someone who generally has a negative relationship with food/weight/body image – I highly recommend this book for a refreshing perspective. The way it is written is both informative and casual; like you’re talking to a well informed best friend.

My 13 year old self would have loved to have a body-positive figure of any kind to offer some sort of advice. I hope this blog post is that ‘positive light’ for any of you that can relate to her.

With love,

Tuti xx

 

4 Comments Add yours

  1. cromel02 says:

    This is a current issue for me I struggle with understanding what body image is to other people and how to just be happy with what my body looks like thanks for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      I am glad you can relate, i hope you can surpass your issues soon. Thanks for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Lovely post and it reminded me of my growing up. I remember having the same issues as a teen. I compared myself to my sister who was a year younger and nearly 20lbs lighter. I was shorter and although I wasn’t really overweight comparing myself to her ideal made me feel that way. I’m 5’1 and back then I was about 118lbs my sis was 5’5 and weighed 100 lbs. Now as an adult I’m a lot more confident about my body image although there are times when there are some factors I’d like to modify. All in all, I think you start to grow into your confidence as you get older.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      I agree. Thanks for reading x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

