GETTING NAKED ;UD Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation

Hello my madeleines,

Today I want to share with you my thoughts on the Urban Decay Naked Skin Ultra Definition Powder Foundation (catchy right? not) I’ve had this product for over a year now, so I think I can give a fair review!

PACKAGING

img_0150

 

The product comes in a really nice/reflective silvery box-the brand uses this type of packaging for a lot of their products. Inside the box, the powder itself is held in a lovely (albeit unnecessary ) purple case.

img_0152

 

The powder case is a  sturdy reflective gunmetal with the Urban Decay abbreviation embossed in it. My only issue is that the packaging shows any sort of dust/dirt/fingerprints, so it needs to be wiped down often. Inside, you get a large mirror, the powder , and a breathable area where the sponge sits. This is important because it minimizes bacteria in the sponge (I still recommend you wash the sponge after every use to be on the safe side). I enjoy the mirror and sponge because they make touch-ups very easy.

COLOR & SHADE MATCH

I love Urban Decay, but they really need to do a better job on their shades, especially the darker ones. They are very limited and have odd undertones. I fall in the Medium-Dark shade range, but In that range they only offer two shades-which I think is absurd. Beyond that, the shade I actually think I am (Medium-dark Warm) Is not available anywhere, ever. I picked up the Medium-dark Neutral shade as it was basically the only one available to me in my general shade category. I have an issue with this because I do not have neutral undertones, nor have I ever met anyone with dark skin and neutral undertones- they usually have yellow or red undertones.

img_0153
Medium/dark neutral

 

Essentially to make this color work I had to either use a light hand, or use color correctors and a lot of yellow based concealer underneath. It was a struggle, but I wanted to make it work because I liked the product itself and how it performed. Eventually, Urban Decay brought out more dark shades (still no Medium-Dark Warm unfortunately) – I got the Dark Warm instead thinking it would be used to ‘warm up’ the neutral one so I could get a better match. Unfortunately, it is very orangey and not yellow-y enough, and darker than it seemed in store ha.  I just want a color match damn it!

img_0151
Dark warm

 

PRODUCT PERFORMANCE

 The brand describes this powder as a foundation with amazing weightless buildable coverage,luminous demi-matte finish, velvety formula  . They also claim it can be used wet & dry, and is long lasting.

In my experience, most of these claims are true.

  • Good coverage, easily buildable, doesn’t feel heavy on the skin at all.It does have a demi-matte finish.
  • Long lasting-looks good from 9-5, looks better throughout the day.
  • Looks like skin, and is easy to touch up on the go (i actually like the sponge it comes with)- does not create build-up like heavier powders
  • Blends out very easily-blurs out fine lines

The issues I have with this product are

  • Does not have a luminous finish at all in my experience-can look flat when you build it up.
  • Can NOT be used wet – looks cakey/blotchy if used wet.
  • Is not suitable for all skin types (without alterations)

If you have dry skin/patches-it will cling to the dry patches and make them more obvious. I use a heavy duty moisturizer (such as Clinique Moisture Surge) 10 mins before application. I also recommend setting your face with  MUFE Mist & Fix/ MAC Fix Plus to help the powder melt into the skin.

If you have oily skin/large pores- It will emphasize pores and may break down throughout the day, I suggest using a primer such as the Benefit Porefessional (if it works for you), the Smashbox Photo Finish, or the NARS Pore-refining primer before applying the powder , to smooth out any problem areas. I also recommend setting your face with a long-lasting setting spray, such as the UD All-Nighter (one of my faves).

Another thing I’ve noticed is that the color of the foundation has too much pigment or something? I’m not sure how to describe it, but the foundation sort of ‘stains’ your hand, etc if you were to swatch. Perhaps that has to do with the long-wearing capabilities, but when you apply it, if you use a sponge the pigment is very intense, as in too intense. Again, this is a personal preference thing and I’m sure not many others would be bothered by it, but I just thought I’d mention it just in case.

IMG_0154.JPG

(L-R: Medium/dark neutral, Dark Warm) These are swatches that I have attempted to wipe off with a tissue-I think you can see what I mean by “staining”

Overall I think this is a good product that wears nicely and looks like skin, even though it does not live up to all of its claims. . I give it an 8.5/10 

Let me know if you’ve tried this product before, and if you like this type of post!

Tuti xx

 

8 Comments Add yours

  1. Absolutely loved your review 🙂

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Aw, thank you so much! 🤗

      Like

  2. chloebeauty7 says:

    Such a detailed review and I love the pictures 🙂

    Like

  3. Georgia says:

    Love this post! I’ve not tried these particular Urban Decay products but I have tried the Naked foundation which I thought was quite thin (so only really wearable on good skin days) but I was still impressed with it. I’ve never found a powder that I’m totally in love with though, so maybe this could be it!

    Georgia ♡
    http://www.chasingnewyork.co.uk

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Thank you! I’m sure there are way more amazing powders out there, but this one is pretty good! Thanks for stopping by x

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

