SUMMER SKIN PROTECTION

Hello my green apple jellybeans,

Today I wanted to talk to you about protecting your skin during the summer; my essential products for a day at the beach, park, or anything outdoors!

FACE CARE

I live in a very hot climate, in the summer, it gets to about 47+ degrees celsius (117 fahrenheit) on a daily basis. This means that sun protection is quite paramount, for various reason. Not only does it reduce the risk of sun damage and skin cancers (for those with lighter skin), but it also delays signs of aging and prevents unwanted marks/spots on the face. The main reason I use sunscreen however is because I tan very easily since I have dark skin, and it is quite uneven.

IMG_0083.JPG

IMG_0084.JPG

The sunscreen I’ve been using recently is the Shisedo Urban Environment SPF 50 Cream for face & body. My body is always covered up so I just use this on my face. I like it so far because It does not leave a white cast on my face and doesn’t have that typical sunscreen smell, and it seems to prevent excessive tanning. My only issue with it is that it is a bit greasy feeling on the skin, so if you go out right away it can feel a bit clammy. To combat this I apply it 15 mins before I leave.

IMG_0085
Shisedo SPF 50 unblended
IMG_0086
Shisedo SPF 50 blended in- no white cast,slightly greasy

 

 

 

 

 

 

LIP CARE

IMG_0080.JPG

It’s very important to remember your lips when you’re out in the sun-especially if you are fair and prone to burning or peeling in the sun. I use it because I like to take the extra precaution and prevent the drying out of my lips when it’s very hot outside. My favorite products for this are the QV Lip Balm SPF 30 and the Vichy Aqualia Thermal Lip Balm.

IMG_0088.JPG

IMG_0091

Both products are amazing at hydrating, but the QV one is slightly thicker and more long-lasting. While the Vichy one is wonderful for smoothing over very dry or irritated lips as it feels calming , light, and , as the name says, soothing; if your lips get burnt, use that one.

HAND CARE

Taking care of your hands is something often overlooked with regards to sun-care. However, your hands are one of the first places where sun damage and signs of aging appear, so it’s important to protect them with moisturizer and SPF. For me, I have to use hand cream regularly as I have eczema and dryness & sun exposure have yet to find a hand cream with SPF that I love, however I am currently using a sample of the Forever Young Hand Cream-SPF 40 by Supergoop.

IMG_0089

So far I’ve really been enjoying this hand cream; it’s moisturizing,lightens up any dark spots on my hands and does not aggravate my eczema. The smell is the only downside to this products, but it dissipates after a while so it’s fine.

Hope this post reminded you about the importance of sun care for your next beach trip!

Let me know if you’d like to see a makeup version of this!

Tuti xx

 

13 Comments Add yours

  1. anspiring says:

    So glad you recognise the importance of sunscreen!!! It is literally on of my beauty addictions hahaha

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Haha. Its KEY! So many people forget about it though!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. bennymakachi says:

    Been hearing about Shiseido sunscreen. I should give it a try.

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      They have plenty of great one to choose from. x

      Like

  3. I would definitely give this a try! loved your post

    c&s recently posted https://cherriesnstrawberriesblog.wordpress.com/2016/09/06/jacklyn-hill-ride-or-die-makeup-tag can you take a look at my recent please it would mean a lot to me. thank you

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Sure lovely. Thanks for stopping by x

      Liked by 1 person

  4. What a nice blog you have. I love beauty products.

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Thank you so much! I love beauty so I’m sure you’ll see more posts like this. Enjoy 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

  5. dolledup92 says:

    loved the post 🙂 I’ll def check out some products ❤
    https://dolledup2016.wordpress.com/

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      So glad you enjoyed it! Hope you find some products you like xx

      Like

  6. Emily xoxx says:

    Your blog is goals!! I’ve recently just started mine and would really appreciate your support if you would just check it out! -Emily xoxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      That is the nicest compliment ever, thanks so much! And yes i’ll check it out for sure 🤗

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

