MAKEUP GRAVEYARD

Hello my chocolate buttons,

Today I wanted to share with you the various makeup items that did not work out for me, for one reason or another. They now sit in the back of my makeup drawers until one of my sisters wants to use them. Let’s begin!

Benefit Porefessional & MAC Prep + Prime ‘Transparent’ Powder:

I picked up a sample size of the Benefit porefessional ages ago at Sephora, after hearing everyone and their mother rave about it. It should be noted that I don’t have large pores and literally wanted to try this just to see what the fuss was about, and maybe get a bit of blurring action too. Unfortunately, every time I use this product I not only notice that my makeup doesn’t sit right on top, but also bunches/balls up on application no matter the quantity I use. I’m not quite sure what the issue is, perhaps it just doesn’t get on with my skin or something? I don’t know. What I do know is that it doesn’t make my makeup look any better, and even my primer junkie sister doesn’t like it at all. PASS! 

With regards to the MAC powder, it is simply not good. It is very chalky in texture and not finely milled, it comes off as white rather than transparent, and is noticeable on the skin. There are at least a dozen other translucent type powders on the market that are more finely milled and achieve what a ‘transparent’ powder is supposed to do.I much prefer the MUFE Microfinish Powder-it blurs imperfections and is verrrry finely milled (just don’t use it with flash)

IMG_0038.JPG
MAC Transparent Finishing Powder
The Balm ‘Nude Tude’ Palette & Smashbox’ Full Exposure Travel Palette: 

I got the Nude Tude palette as a gift over 2 years ago, although I have tried to make it work so many times, I still can’t work with it and do not like it. The issue I have is that the shades are surprisingly very hard to blend (especially the dark mattes- ‘Sexy’ & ‘Serious’) . Beyond that, the shimmer shades vary in pigmentation and do not apply nicely with a brush,and some has way too much fallout. Overall I just didn’t see the benefit of this palette for me, especially when it is majority cool tones, which are generally unflattering on my skin tone.  Also, I don’t understand when anyone would use a shimmery STARK white eyeshadow on a daily basis.IMG_0039.JPG

I picked up the Smashbox travel palette on a whim at the checkout line at Sephora. I now wish I’d spent that cash on a travel mask or something I would probably enjoy more. This palette is pretty to look at , it should work in theory – mattes/shimmers, dark browns, etc. However, I don’t think this palette was made for someone with melanin, to be quite frank. The only ‘transition shade’ available in the palette is far to light to be used as such for someone of color. Even when mixed with the dark brown, it looks off and ashy as the transition shade itself is very neutral/bordering on cool. Beyond that, the shimmer shades are mostly very neutral in tone, and cool. For someone with yellow undertones and dark skin, the combination is unflattering and looks off. Overall, I did not get on well with this palette, and I think it is sadly only suited for a predominantly white audience.

Colorpop Creme Gel Eyeliner & Milani Baked Blush:

My sister ordered the Colorpop liner in  ‘Best O’ after she heard people raving about Colorpop for their pigmentation and quality in their products. While this is true for most of their products, some products are lacking in one way or another. This eyeliner was extremely dry/thick in texture; I would not use the word ‘Gel’ to describe it at all. I looked passed that because It was incredibly pigmented and has a lovely aubergine color; I was excited to use it after my sister. However, upon application, my sister was commenting on how itchy her eyelid was,to the point where she had to remove the eyeliner completely and the itching then stopped. At a later date, I tried the eyeliner and had the same reaction, it was extremely itchy and uncomfortable. Even my little sister tried it and had the same reaction, which I think is no coincidence at this point since I am the only one out of my siblings with sensitive skin, yet we all had a reaction. No bueno!

IMG_0035.JPG
L to R: Colorpop Creme Gel Eyeliner (Best ‘O’), Milani Baked Blush (Rose D’Oro)
Moving on to the Milani Blush in shade 02 (Rose D’oro); a beautiful warm pink with gold shimmer running through it. Although I love the color, the formula of the blush leaves much to be desired in my opinion. It is very powdery  and does not last well (its gone within a couple hours, and I have normal/dry skin) . A better alternative is Sleek Blush in Rose Gold  or  the infamous NARS Orgasm Blush.

Covergirl SuperSizer Mascara :

I was given this product some time ago and on first impression, I knew the brush would not suit me (i’m picky with mascara- I do not like ‘clumpy’/wet mascaras). The brush has an odd shape- it is slightly thicker at the tip of the wand, and has very very short bristles. The mascara is marketed as a volumizing mascara, and apparently a lot of people like it!IMG_0034.JPG

On me, I found it to clump my lashes together and put on too much product at once. It did not give me the length and separation I usually go for in mascara, and from a volume standpoint as it claims, it did not do much for me. Even when I tried separating my lashes with the wand, the short bristles made it quite tricky. The only plus about this mascara for me is how black it is. I think this mascara might be best suited for people with very short lashes.

IMG_0043.JPG

I hope you enjoyed this review type of post!

Please note that just because these products didn’t work for me, doesn’t mean they won’t work for you! or that I won’t purchase from these brands again. Always try things out for yourself because we all have different preferences/experiences with products.

Tuti xx

22 Comments Add yours

  1. emilykburr says:

    I’ve always liked the look of the Nude tude palette but maybe I’ll give it a miss now. Great post 😍 I’d love it if you could check out my blog, emilykburr.wordpress.com 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. tutistales says:

      Sure, thanks for stopping by! 😊

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved this post! So informative. Thank you xoxoxo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. taylah443 says:

    Love love love love !! x

    Liked by 1 person

  4. chloebeauty7 says:

    Love this post! Such a good idea xx

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Umm..im 21. But ok 😂

      Like

  5. amerjitkang says:

    I’ve had the same problem with the Milani Baked Bronzed! And it’s not at all pigmented!

    Like

  6. Miss T says:

    Love the term makeup graveyard!

    Like

  7. Yes- that’s totally how I feel about Benefit’s Porfessional as well. I wanted to like it as a primer since many people do, but I felt it got sort of clumpy/dry looking around my nose area and mouth. So weird.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Your eyes are absolutely stunning! Even with that mascara they are perfection. Are you using a water based foundation? That could be why the primer (silicone) won’t hold on to it xx check out my blog maybe? You might find something you like 🙂

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Aw thanks so much! Nope not using a water based foundation which is why its so strange! Thanks for stopping by. I’ll be sure to check out your blog 🤗 x

      Like

      1. Wow that is strange! No problem and thank you x

        Like

  9. sandzano says:

    Is it possible that your foundation is water-based? I know that Benefit Porefessional is silicone-based primer, so that would explain why it does not hold your foundation.
    Anyway, liked the post a lot! 🙂

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      I’ve thought about that! But i’ve used it with several foundations and checked them all, none are water based :/ I think it’s just not meant for me haha. Aw glad you enjoyed, thanks for stopping by! ❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Jenny says:

    I was disappointed by that mascara too! My lashes clumped and then drooped. It would not hold a curl!!

    JennyLovesBeauty♥

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      Omg really? Hmm. All i heard was people raving about this mascara lol

      Like

Leave a Reply

