VEGAN & GLUTEN-FREE CHOCOLATEY TREATS!

Hello my lemon meringue pies,

Today I want to share with you three easy & delicious vegan and gluten-free goodies! For all of you with a sweet tooth, you can still have yummy treats even if you are vegan or have allergies like me! Keep reading for more info.

Treat #1 : Chocolate cake w/chocolate frosting

For the chocolate cake, I basically added cocoa powder to the Gluten Free Vanilla Cake Mix from Ogran (yes I use pre-made mixes…don’t judge me!). They have a chocolate cake mix, but I just didn’t have it at home haha. I added about half a cup of unsweetened cocoa powder to the mix, and then followed the instructions on the back for preparation and baking. To frost it, I used the Duncan Hines Creamy Classic Chocolate frosting, which is accidentally vegan. Yippee! I recommend decorating it with sprinkles and other cute bits after you frost it 😀 The cake turns out really great and has great flavor, even my family members that eat regular cake approve, so you know it’s good.

 

Treat # 2: Frosting stuffed chocolate chip cookies

For the cookies, I used the Betty Crocker GF Chocolate Chip Cookie Mix. I’ve used this plenty of times before and it’s always a hit with everyone. I recommend undercooking the cookies (by 3-5 mins of the suggested time) and leaving them to cool before eating them. They turn out gooey and delicious that way. I usually make them according to package instructions, but use  flax eggs (instead of normal eggs) and a splash of non-dairy milk just to help combine the dough properly (they don’t say to do this, but I always do).

For the frosting element, I used the same chocolate frosting mentioned earlier. I put a few small blobs (technical term) on some plastic wrap and sprinkled some sprinkles on top, then froze them (for at least 1 hr). I then popped them in the center of the dough and rolled the dough .


FullSizeRender (28)

 

Bake desired amount of cookies and wrap the rest of the dough up and place it in the freezer for later use. I thaw the frozen dough for about 30-45 mins before cutting it into rounds and rolling into a ball. These cookies don’t expand a whole lot, so press down gently just to flatten them a bit before baking.

 

IMG_7748

 

Finished results..i overcooked mine a bit because I got distracted by a bird that flew into the kitchen (don’t ask)..but they were still good! As I said above, they are best when they are a tad underdone and left to cool, they continue to cook slightly and are still nice and moist inside.

 

Treat # 3: Decadent hot chocolate
FullSizeRender (29)

Lastly, we have a classic hot cocoa. To make this, I used Hershey’s Unsweetened Cocoa Powder (about a 1 1/2 tbs..or as chocolatey as you like) and added hot water to it. I then frothed about 1/2 cup of heated Soy milk (it froths way better than almond milk) , using an electric handheld frother . I also added some sweetener (I use Stevia). Then I simply poured the frothed milk into the chocolate, and added a drizzle of caramel sauce. YUM. It was so good (and way too filling..I insisted on using my BIG MUG haha).

 

Hope you enjoyed reading about these treats as much as I enjoyed devouring them!

Happy eating 🤗

Tuti xx

5 Comments Add yours

  1. Yummy! i need to try these!

    Like

  2. Breezy says:

    OMG! I love your blog. There are so many great tips and well-written posts. 🙂

    Like

    1. tutistales says:

      You’re too kind! Thank you so much 🤗✨

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Daniela Soriano says:

    Everything looks so yummy!

    https://shesjustlikeheaven.wordpress.com/

    Like

Leave a Reply

